It is important for all cities and towns to have large outdoor public spaces, such as parks or squares. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, many countries are showing great interest in building outdoor space in urban areas. While some argue that constructing public sites is such a waste of money and is not necessary, I strongly believe that parks and squares provide urban dwellers with tremendous merits.

First of all, enhancing citizens’ mental and physical health is one of the biggest advantages of outdoor spaces. These places provide a large area for city people to exercise like running, playing sports, as well as a green space to get away from the pollution of the city which is free of charge. For example, many people have the habit of running in the parks to either maintain their health and relax every day. Moreover, city dwellers can enjoy lots of leisure activities in these places to strengthen their mental health. Lots of festivals, concerts and special events can be held in the city square which enables all citizens to attend. Besides, outdoor parks are ideal places for individuals to meet up with friends and broaden their circle of relationships. Let’s take the walking street in Hoan Kiem lake as a typical example, this site is always crowded with youngers coming there for playing, chatting and wandering every night and weekend.

Secondly, the city’s image is closely attached to its outdoor public spaces. Having vast and splendid zones for citizens can prove the city’s robust economic potential as constructing these places does not only require the support from government but also the fund raised by the city’s dwellers. In addition, the investment in recreational places for the public is likely to attract a great number of tourists from both local people and outsiders. As a result, the economy of the city or town would be significantly boosted. The new square in Tuyen Quang province, for instance, from its establishment has attracted thousands of visitors each year coming for the Full Moon festival which is held in this place. Thanks to that, the city’s tourism has developed dramatically, and local people have gained a great fortune by lending their houses as homestays for the tourists.

In conclusion, even though constructing outdoor spaces might cause pressure for the cities and towns, I firmly advocate that they are indispensable parts of urban life with immense benefits for either the city itself and the citizens.