It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion What sort of punishment should parents and t

It is undeniable that children are the ones that will shape the future of their generations. However, for them to do so, they must be well-educated not only in academic studies but also in their behavior as well. Most people think that the most effective way to help children find their moral compass is to teach them from an early age via punishments. While I do believe that letting children have too much control is a bad thing, the same can also be said in regards to an excessive amount of punishment. I personally believe that necessary measures should be taken to help them differentiate between right and wrong.

First and foremost, children are a product of their environment. This means that most of the foundation that determines their personalities is built in the first few years of their life. In their childhood, children are blessed with boundless curiosity which they use to explore and learn about the wonders of the world. They are easily affected by external factors and tend to imitate people around them without any sense of moral reasoning, which can be bad at times. In this case, punishment act as guidelines to help them accurately define what is good and what is bad. If a kid knows that he will be punished by his parents for committing bad actions, he is more likely to re-evaluate his actions before attempting them, effectively making a filtering system where only good actions are performed.

However, the punishments should be used only as valuable lessons, not as outlets for parents' anger. In addition, too many physical punishments may cause children to develop trauma and other psychological problems. Therefore, parents should refrain from severely hurting children and try other constructive methods instead. For example, not allowing them to use their phones, computers for a day, making them do household chores, etc... are all constructive methods to help them grow.

In conclusion, I believe that children should be acquainted with the rights and wrongs in their actions and certain punishments are required to make it happen. However, children's mentality should be taken into considerations when reinforcing these ideals within them.