It is important for children o learn the difference between right and wrong at early age. Punishment s necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

While it seems imperative for children to be taught abut good and bad things as soon as possible, it becomes matter of debate whether punishment should be given a role or if answer is positive, to what extent? This issue will be discussed in detail in the following essay and writer’s perspective will be disclosed.

Punishing supporters have some reasons in favour of their idea. If some sinister action occurred from a child, killing an innocent animal for instance, it would be better for the violator to face the consequences which might be a range of counter-actions including verbal to even trivial physical punishment, otherwise this misbehaviour may turn to a permanent trend. Telling a lie is another example that should be prevented. Moreover, in some countries physical punishment has turned to a fundamental method of teaching youngsters about virtues and vices. This kind of encounters, even today, are still can be seen in underdeveloped areas like some Middle Eastern and African nations as the main discipline strategy.

On the other hand, it sounds more logical to refrain from all sorts of punishment, physical in particular, and stick to the more beneficial alternatives like encouragement and positive reinforcement. Giving incentives like a present or verbal appraisal to children’s moral actions for instance, are not only approved scientifically to be more effective, but also socially may seem more acceptable, so it could be easily replace physical punishment that rejected by all child psychologists. Positive boosting might be another crucial mechanism for elevating motivations for moral behaviours and beliefs in pupils at school and preventing others from committing a criminal action. By encouraging a humanistic movement like fundraising for a charity, as an example, increased motivation towards similar activities is what could be expected in the near future.

To sum up, although punishment is still used I some regions for teaching moral and immoral, it appear that it should be confined maximally to only verbal kind and it is far more better to impose more scientific styles like encouragement.