Many people today are worried about young children using video games. What problems

might these games cause, for children and society as a whole? How could these problems be

reduced?

Nowadays, alongside with the technological progress especially in computer area, children are more use to playing video games. Serious concerns has been raised about the problems which are caused as a result of this trend. This essay will discuss some derived issues in addition to measures to tackle with them.

May be the most critical effect of video-gaming on children who are dependent to these game is home dependency. Kids who spending several hours in front of a console for playing, could become completely homebound. As a result their social interactions can decrease to a minimum level and their genuine image of the external world is lost. On the other hand, by sitting continuously on a chair, general health will be endangered due to physical activity shortage, so devastating diseases such as hypertension and obesity will ensure in the long run. Furthermore, from the social perspective, games which are violent or inappropriate for child’s age could lead to propagation of rage and aggressive behavior that destabilize security sense of the community.

Turning to the possible solutions, the most effective one is parental control over the contents of video games. Applying limitation on violent and aggressive games could have a vital role in hazard prevention. The other measure is putting strict screen time schedule in order to confine it to maximum two hours a day which not only is scientific, but also can provide ample time for other useful activities. Finally, government should prohibit inappropriate games from spreading amongst youth by controlling the software markets.

All in all, despite series of problems which could be caused by video games for our young generation, we can still have enough power to manage them through wise supervision.