Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions Some people think this is fully justified while think it is unfair Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

The amount of money which a professional athlete would make during his or her career, is a matter of debate. Whether they deserve the high sums of money or not, is going to be discussed in the following essay.

One the one hand, there are several reasons why high-ranked sports champions should be well-paid. First of all, becoming an athlete in olympic level needs a long period of hard practice. For example, Mohammad Ali who was a boxing legend, was trained more than a decade. Furthermore, being a sports hero needs more than long time effort. In addition to innate capabilities, an immense dedication and perseverence should be added to results in a world's champion and it is not every man's land, without any doubt. For example, a wrestling champion needs hours of training, education, practice and diet to be qualified to take part in olympic tournoment. Moreover, with regard to the relatively short career span, athletes do not have more than ten to fifteen years for making money out of their profession. Take a famous soccer player as an example, does not have more of a decade to flourish and gain financial benefit from football leagues. Consequently, this enormous salary could be justified.

On the other hand, I do believe that this tremendous discrepancy in the income between sports stars and other more important professions, is not fair at all. Firstly, in spite of gaining lower income, there are more important jobs for community compared to athletes like doctors, nurses and pilots who are responsible for our safety. I can not imagine that a top surgeon, for instance, earn one-tenth than a tennis champion. Also, some of these jobs need much more specific training, risk taking and talent rather than a sports star. Becoming a fighter jet pilot, as an example, takes more than a decade education and the same amount experience and training. Horrible risk percentage in addition to the maximum responsibility grade to defend a country's air space, makes it irrational to be paid less than a football player. So, these critical jobs should not be underpaid.

In conclusion, despite short career span and popularity of a ports star, other crucial professions like doctors, nurses, teacher and pilots should not be less paid.