It is important that children with a wide range of abilities and from a variety of social backgrounds mix with each other at school.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is believed by many people that integrating children who have various potentials and from divergent social backgrounds at school is essential. In my opinion, this is a double-edged sword as there are advantages and drawbacks as well.

Mixing children at school has two predominant positive impacts. Firstly, children can learn from each other as there are many classmates with a wide range of talents. In other words, children can replenish and perfect their skills through sharing and helping their friends. Secondly, observing others’ abilities gives children the motivation to push themselves more in learning and training along with how the young conduct themselves. This means children have the chance to compare and compete with each other which is the necessary stimulation kids need in order to gain triumph in the future.

On the other hand, mingling kids with a variety of competencies and social backgrounds may lead to inevitable disadvantages. Children might be bullied owning to their social circumstances especially kids with poverty or without parents. This results in children being given a strong sense of inferiority and embarrassment. Furthermore, students who cannot stand the rivalry at school would not take it as the motivation but obstacles. Hence, this would only contribute to slow down these kids’ learning progress.

In conclusion, mixing students with many abilities and from diverse social backgrounds can end up either motivating them or giving them a sense of inferiority complex. As long as we can educate and instruct the students into the right path with the right mind, I think the advantages of this method would outweigh those drawbacks.