It is inevitable that as technology advances, traditional cultures will be lost. It seems that we cannot have these two things together.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the recent times enormous growth in technology and media is evident. It is feared that local customs and cultural values would suffer as a result of technological developments. I believe traditions and cultures are not at stake as technology expands, rather both can establish and cherish together.

It is argued that, social media has brought the world closer but it has also destroyed conventional methods of socialization. For instance, facebook, one of the major social networking portal has made it possible to stay in contact with friends abroad. However, people are less aware of their immediate surroundings and the events taking place in the community. Another negative impact that technology development has ensured, the younger generation are more interested in internet or television information which is usually not related to their local customs. To illustrate, youth are well informed regarding show biz or distant countries, nevertheless, the lack serious information regarding their own geography, nation's history.

On the other hand, certain countries has used technological development to their benefits. They have used networking platforms to popularize and nurture their culture. For example China has launched a number of television programs to familiarize their upcoming generations about their history and cultural values. Furthermore, India has utilized social media by showing their religious rituals and annual ceremonies to enhance Indian cultural. Subsequently, tourism in India has risen by 25% in last 10 years. As a result even western population visit India on various religious festivals.

All in all, technology might have overshadowed some of the old traditional customs in some parts of the world. However, I agree to fact that by appropriate scheming and e