It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When weighing up the local history and world history, several people appreciate the former. In my opinion, these two fields of historical knowledge are both important in their own ways.

To begin, it is understandable why the importance of studying local history at school is undeniable. Firstly, i strongly agree with the idea that having thorough insights into what occurred in the past in one’s own country will develop people’s patriotism and pride. Pupils in Vietnam, for instance, often feel a sense of pride when learning about several victories of Vietnamese ancients against outside intruders in a number of long-lasting wars. As a result, youngsters gradually love them homeland more. Moreover, learning local history increases children's confidence and sense of achievement, encouraging them to protect their traditional values. Without doing it, the culture of the country may become fainter and fainter.

From another angle, there are various reasons why learning world history is beneficial for youngsters. It is worth considering that the world history complements the local history in helping a student understand the world. Undoubtedly, the present world is a product of the past, and future generations should avoid the mistakes of the past generations to create a sustainable ecosystem. For instance, understanding the reasons behind world wars and genocides helps students appreciate the need for an inclusive and consensus based approach to solving problems.Moreover, having thorough insights into global historical events help children understand the problem in the locality now. In particular, the Global Financial Crisis of 2008 had similar causes with the Great Depression of the 1930s. By understanding that events, children are able to prevent their country from financial disaster in the future.

To sum up, i disagree with the greater importance placed on local history as compared with global historical events.