It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been an increasingly popularised opinion that students should prioritize learning local history over global one. From my perspective, I partly agree with the statement for the following reasons.

On the one hand, having a solid understanding of world history is undeniably beneficial for schoolchildren to a certain extent. Knowing world history is a requisite for global citizens. The rich history of the world helps students acknowledge their home country’s position in the international market. Subsequently, they can come up with innovative ways to contribute to national development that are suitable for the current situation of their country. Additionally, world history contributes to mutual understanding between people from different cultures. Communicating intelligently with foreigners requires that both parties to the conversation share a common fund of knowledge, information, and vocabulary.

On the other hand, students should already have a thorough understanding of local history before learning about world history. History partly reflects the past's society, ideologies, and cultures. Developing knowledge of domestic history means developing knowledge of the unique cultures of the learners’ countries, which subsequently enhances their cultural identity. Another point worth considering is that the ancestors’ experiences can be more valuable than those from world history. Due to cultural and geographical differences, when students want to apply any measures of a great man in the world’s history to solve any social issues of the nation, they have to modify them to suit the case. Conversely, the ancestors had come up with an effective method that was suitable for the local geography. For instance, in 938, Ngo Quyen had taken advantage of the Bach Dang River to protect Vietnam against Chinese invaders. Later on, in 1288, Tran Quoc Tuan used the same strategy to fight Mongolia, creating one of the greatest victories in Vietnamese military history. However, this cannot be implemented in another country for any purpose.

In conclusion, while having a broad understanding of world history exerts several advantages, schoolchildren should learn domestic history first. It is advisable that schools teach national history to primary and secondary school students, and international history to high school students.