Some people believe that international free-car days are effective ways to reduce air pollution. However, the others argue that there are several ways that are more effective. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There is a growing consensus on the introduction of global free-car days to alleviate air pollution, while some people opine that other methods can be more effective. Although the former statement seems reasonable to a certain extent, I believe that it is not feasible and the government can deal with air pollution in other ways.

On the one hand, proponents of free-car day emphasize a potential decline in the amount of fossil fuels trapped in the air. Cars are widely considered as the primary cause of contaminated air and many other pressing problems such as traffic congestion and noise pollution. From this perspective, once people pause driving cars for one day, they are likely to acknowledge the advantages of shopping using cars, consequently forgoing their habit of using cars to commute. Following that, poisonous gases from cars, which are partly responsible for air pollution, will vanish, leaving decontaminated air to humankind.

However, I am inclined to the view that the aforementioned solution should not be implemented and there are a large number of more effective measures. Recent studies have shown that the majority of individuals who possess over one car can tell at least five disadvantages of their vehicles to the air. This means that free-car days cannot modify their main means of transportation. Nevertheless, the issue is still manageable with more effective measures. Particularly, the government can collaborate with corporations which specialize in car manufacture to introduce environmentally-friendly vehicles. This has recently received strong endorsement from politicians from different nations. Various governmental institutions have funded for the invention of cars that use renewable sources of energy like sun and wind and do not generate harmful gases into the air but also have the capacity to run as fast as cars powered by gasoline. The advent of these cars can evoke international attention of environmentally-conscious customers who are using cars due to the nature of their works. It can not only mitigate air pollution but also raise revenues for car manufacturers.

In conclusion, it seems justifiable to support free-car days. However, its influence is proved to be marginal and other efficacious methods can be applied to address issues related to polluted air. One of them is to sell environmentally-friendly cars.