it is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that a healthy lifestyle has positive impacts on community health. However, I disagree with the viewpoint that public money should be spent more on projects of improving general health of community rather than on ill treatment.

Supporters may find that the adoption of healthy lifestyle benefits in many ways. First and foremost, it prevents illness by improving the environment quality. For instance, during the covid pandemic, those who usually do exercises and keep their house clean overcame that unexpected event more easily than those who did not. Another example is the case of Africa, where many died at young ages because of illness. In this country, people usually eat food by hand without washing it before, and the sanitary quality here is extremely bad. Therefore, if the awareness of health in community increased, it would be a great solution for a lower death rate.

On the other hand, treatment of people with illness is equally important. First, it helps improve competencies for health care workers. Obviously, new strains of viruses are ever-changing to resist to current medicines and treatment technology. Therefore, the delay of treatment can lead to more serious problems as community immunity cannot catch up with the speed of viral diseases spread. Additionally, it is a serious ethics problem if treatable illness do not receive medical care due to high expenses as government stops sponsor.

In conclusion, while promoting a healthy lifestyle is beneficial to health industry, I believe that investments in promoting a healthy lifestyle and in advanced technology or skill to heal illness should be balanced.