It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a growing consensus on the allocation of governmental budgets to encouraging a healthy lifestyle to reduce the potential of ailments instead of treatment for individuals who are already diagnosed with diseases. I personally disagree with this statement as both of the actions hold equal significance.

Initially, a healthy lifestyle may contribute enormously to disease prevention. Recent studies have shown that the majority of young individuals are prone to illnesses due to their sedentary lifestyles. This means that if they cultivate healthy habits such as doing exercise and limiting sugar intake, their immunities against diseases are likely to strengthen. This scheme has received a huge endorsement from politicians across different nations. A prime example of them is Spain with most citizens having healthy lifestyle habits. The country has recorded a relatively low rate of COVID-19 cases, which is considered to result from the Spanish's healthy diet.

However, expenditure on possible treatments cannot be ignored due to the potential transmission of viruses. In 2019, a virus named corona first took place in a Chinese city. The quantity of patients was so large that the hospitals cannot handle all of them, which acted as a catalyst for the worldwide spread of such viruses. This past event has justified the view that efficient treatment is the primary contributor to the public's good health. As prominently observed in the pandemic, despite a large proportion of money devoted to vaccines, the virus evolved and became even more destructive. If the Chinese government had sponsored the finding for treatments to such a disease in the first place, it would not have had the opportunity to go across international borders. Subsequently, there would have been far less deaths and other countries would not have suffered any economic deterioration.

In conclusion, I believe that promoting healthy lifestyles and providing treatments to individuals who are suffering from illnesses are equally important. It is advisable for the governments to actively propose certain incentives to encourage healthy habits among the civilians and provide finding for studies on the treatment of diseases that are currently incurable.