It is much more convenient to watch a movie on television or computer than buy a ticket and go to the cinema. In the near future the popularity of cinemas will drastically decline.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that watching a movie on television or a computer can be more convenient than going to the cinema, and the number of people going to the cinema in the future will dramatically decline. From my point of view, I agree with this statement. However, I would not agree that the popularity of cinemas will decline in the future.

On the one hand, watching films on television or computer can be more convenient than watching at the cinema. People can save a lot of money by watching films at home. For example, when going to the cinema, people have to pay a large amount of money such as travel costs, or food costs. Not only travel, and food costs but also ticket fees have become too expensive nowadays for many people who want to go to the cinema. Besides, during Covid-19, when people can not go out of their homes, and the cinema is being closed by restrictive rules, many new streaming platforms such as Netflix, Disney +, or Crunchyroll have become popular. These platforms can help people to access many categories of films at anywhere, and anytime, with a suitable price.

On the other hand, there are many reasons why watching movies at the cinema is better than watching on television, or computer. One of the reasons is that watching movies at the theatre can bring people a better experience. For instance, at the cinema, it has great sound systems, movie effects, or a bigger screen than watching at home. These can make viewers feel more engaged in the movie, and give them good feelings, or emotions. Another reason is that people can watch movies earlier than watch at home. Most of the movies are exclusively by the theatre, so if people want to watch a film such as Avatar 2, they have to wait a few months for the streaming platforms to buy the copyright to play them on their online platforms.

To conclude, although watching movies on a small screen is more appropriate than watching on a big screen, I think the number of people coming to the cinema will not go down in the near future.