It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaurs, dodos, etc.). There is no reason why people should stop this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?

The modern era of urbanization has witnessed severe extinction of animal species as their habitats have become continuously hazardous. It is argued by some that this is a natural process and humans have no responsibility to deter this from happening. Personally, I partly agree with this viewpoint as people also must be accountable for what they have impacted negatively on the wild environment to protect endangered species as well as retain benefits that people can get from animals.

To commence with, to some extent, I concur that it is true that some extinction has occurred due to natural changes and people cannot prevent it. Indeed, certain groups of species, such as dinosaurs or dodos,... have undergone extinction when they cannot adapt to hostile changes in habitats which sometimes stem from nature’s impact on the Earth or even from other planets’ influences. Despite of state- of - the -art science, it is extremely challenging and expensive for people to cope with nature's power while it is more beneficial for humans to invest in their living conditions. Moreover, extinction is also a foundation for another evolution in which new species may appear with stronger survival ability so it is unnecessary to stop it. To illustrate, after the era of dinosaurs ended, life on Earth continued followed by the emergence of other species which are supposed to be descendants of them.

However, I still opine that people have to take responsibility to alleviate extinction and protect wild animals for two primary reasons. First and foremost, it is humans who impact the earth’s habitat, partly causing climate changes that pose a threat to animals’ lives. The more skyscrapers and urban areas emerge along with the increase in industrial waste, the more forests that are home to wild animals are destroyed. Such impacts do not originate from nature and people definitely can pursue sustainable development which not only brings betterment in human life but also maintains a wild environment for animals. In addition, as long as precious animals disappear, it means that people lose some benefits from such animals so protecting wildlife is also for the sake of human life. For instance, some medicines to treat serious diseases, that scientists still cannot explore alternative substances, are extracted from some parts of animals

In conclusion, although people cannot struggle with the natural selection process in which some animals die because of the lack of survival ability, humans still should take the onus to prevent negative artificial impacts on the environment. This not only protects endangered animals but also is beneficial to human life.