It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide

university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do

you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that it is impossible ineffective for a country to expand university places for a high proportion of school-leavers. I completely agree with this view.

It is not feasible to provide more opportunities of university acceptance for a lot of youngsters. Firstly, this would pose a heavy financial burden on the economic system of a country as more new infrastructures such as campuses, rooms and laboratories have to be constructed to fulfill the need of the education system. Moreover, it would be physically impossible to cope with a new intake of unprecedented student numbers that could lead to a decrease in the educational quality of university as a poor supervision of teachers for their students could be a common phenomenon. Secondly, university entrance standards have to be lower for those with low grades could gain admittance which might make the existing quality of learning in higher education suffer.

In terms of the economic needs of a country, it is not useful to provide university education for a high proportion of young people. Although a nation of expensively-trained academic graduates might be extremely desirable socially, this could lead to a lack of skilled technicians and employees in other sectors such as manufacturing and service. Instead, we should pursue a more realistic policy of increasing the provision of vocational training courses for school-leavers, combined with internship opportunities and on the job training. The outcome of this policy is expected to create a more balanced economic system as many fields would recruit enough well-trained employees.

In conclusion, I fully agree with the statement on the negative consequence of increasing more university places for a vast majority of young people.