It is neither possible nor useful to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the question of whether or not providing university places for students is impossible and useless has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although these opinions have many disagreements, I completely agree with these ideas.

There are a variety of reasons why providing tertiary education for almost all young students is impossible. First, since the sustainable development of a nation requires to have many investments in many key areas, such as healthcare, economy, education, supporting to build campuses may put more burden on national budgets. In fact, building more places for tertiary education is prohibitive, not to mention the cost for buying indispensable teaching equipment, which implies that providing higher education for the majority of youngsters is a difficulty for the government. Second, by letting children enter higher education, parents have to pay a large amount of money for tuition fees. This means that meager income families will struggle with a guarantee to have enough money for basic demand of living and their children's fees of schooling, cannot improve their standard of living as a result.

Moreover, having a university degree no longer has a vital role in the future of young people. First, in order to be able to make a living as soon as possible, many school-leavers opt for vocational courses which help young people can earn money without committing four years of college. This means that learners are armed with practical skills and work experience, which helps them have better job opportunities and have a better future. Second, if the majority of youngsters pursue higher education, there will be an imbalance in labour market. In fact, many prosperous countries, such as Canada and Japan have continuously imported foreign workers to fill the hole of manual labor in their country, implying that vocational courses should not be marginalized.

In conclusion, although having access to tertiary education is important, it is impossible and useless at present. By considering all the pros and cons, the government and young people will make the best decision.