Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In these days, the question of whether or not academic formal qualifications are more crucial than hands-on experience or personal qualities has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this idea can be attributed to a whole host of reasons, some drawbacks of this development will be far more considered.

There are a variety of reasons why recruiters favor formal qualifications over life experience or personalities. First, recruiters believe that candidates with an academic qualification are equipped with in-depth knowledge and useful skills which are necessary for their future jobs. In fact, university students are armed with specialist knowledge and skills related to their majors, which helps hem make greater contributions to their company than those without any qualifications. Second, this trend is a great way to save time for employee recruiters. In fact, candidates who do not have any academic formal qualifications are more likely to spend a large amount of time and effort on mastering their job, as a result reducing work productivity.

Nevertheless, this trend has many adverse effects. First, since spending most of the time on studying and not focusing on hands-on experience, those workers may have difficulty in solving practical circumstances. In fact, many employees who have various degrees still can not deal with their clients because of a lack of vital skills and experience, losing the company's loyal customers as a result. Second, since work abilities are a string of good qualifications and good personalities and skills, employers would not marginalize any aspects. For example, a worker with a formal qualification and soft-skills such as problem-solving, leadership, interpersonal, etc will work much more effectively than a candidate with only a degree, which implies that other elements are also crucial for a good worker.

In conclusion, although favoring academic formal qualifications is attributed to some reasons, recruiters should consider candidates' life experience and personal abilities to get suitable workers and enhance work productivity.