Q5 : It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of how to understand the cultures of other areas has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that taking trips to foreign countries is the sole way to learn about different cultures, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that travelling abroad enables individuals to have a deeper understanding of other cultures. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that not only can tourists communicate with locals, but overseas visitors are also able to mingle with them, which makes it possible for travellers to acquire local cultures vividly. Another convincing reason is that some materials, including books and movies, often present biased information to readers that often hinders people from understanding culture precisely given that these materials include the intentions of writers or producers.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that travelling overseas is the only way to have a tight grasp of foreign cultures. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that in this technologically advanced era, people can reap numerous pieces of cultural knowledge about the places where they cannot pay a visit on the Internet. As an illustration, a natural heritage site designated by UNESCO in South Korea which have numerous species of endangered birds prevented tourists from accessing the site in the year 2015 because an astronomical amount of garbage generated by a multitude of travellers exerted a detrimental influence on the local environment. However, people are able to learn about cultural knowledge linked to this habitat by watching video clips on Youtube or movies on the Internet. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths as discussed above.