It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn about culture and people,

because people can learn from books, films or the Internet. Do you agree or

disagree?

There are various ways to gain cultural knowledge that people can take into account, such as reading available documents and travel. It is sometimes said that the former one is so good that the later one is not essential. Personally, I do not agree with this idea.

Firstly, sometimes the information used is incorrect or limited. Nowadays, there are numerous information sources for readers to choose: magazines, newspapers, websites and so on. The authenticity, however, of those is still questioned since some of them are made up for marketing purposes or out of date. For example, my friends read some travelling advice from a blogger and took a short trip to Ly Son last year. Unfortunately, because the entry was written 2 years ago, most of the data for the accommodation, vehicles and prices were not right. In addition, there are certain places that we cannot find much information about owing to their unpopularity. If someone wants to travel Amazon jungle, there might be not sufficient information for them.

Secondly, experiences usually bring travellers more unforgettable memories. Learning via books and other media can deliver a huge amount of knowledge, but it is not able to make it easy to remember compared to travel. Real incidents provide many emotions and an insight look into the culture and humans which we cannot find in books. That is the reason why undergraduates in the travelling faculty often have real experiences in other provinces instead of read materials all the time. I had frequently had a lot of reading about Dalat and the meanings of its landmarks’ names, yet I had never succeeded in remembering them. Nevertheless, after my trip to those places, I could bear them in my mind without any attempt.

In conclusion, despite available documents’ pros, they cannot replace travel. In my opinion, Travel is perhaps the only way bringing the whole look into a strange culture.