The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is to provide free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Gridlocked roads in big cities are probably a burning issue all over the world. To tackle this problem, it is said that fare free public transit is a key solution. I totally disagree with this idea.

Firstly, limited budget is an obstacle on providing free public transport all the time. In general, it requires a huge amount of money to run a public transport system, so policymakers have to take how to subsidize it effectively into consideration. In addition, it is not necessary to provide free services all the time since traffic jams only happen in rush hours. In fact, although many cities such as Estonia’s capital and Hasselt had a try, most of them stopped and reintroduced fare due to unsustainable funds. As a result, people using public transport because of free charge will come back to their private vehicles. In this case, traffic congestion cannot be solved in long term.

Secondly, there are some more effective methods than it. Poor infrastructure is one the main causes of congestion, so I suggest that governments had better invest in improving facilities. In Vietnam, especially in Hanoi and Sai Gon, traffic jams have been easied considerably since roads were widened and overpasses were built. Additionally, policymakers also can take into account an idea from Indonesia: travellers use vehicles with odd numbers on odd days and vice versa. In this way, travellers have to use public transport on certain days. Despite of its inconvenience at first, it may work in the long run since the number of transports on roads can be reduced by half. These measures not only can be used in long term but also is more economical compared to zero-fee transport.

In conclusion, free transport transit seems to be attractive for users, but it drawbacks make it not the optimal one. In my opinion, policymakers should consider other practical methods and combine them to cope with gridlock.