some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. they say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. to what extend do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of wasste?

Polluted environment has been such a burning issue for decades that recycling household waste is taken into account. However, citizens seem not to pay attention. To deal with this problem, it is believed that policymakers had better launch a law to make people recycle. Personally, I suppose that laws play an important role in this situation.

Firstly, all dwellers are forced to participate in reprocessing when a law is introduced, which leads to an increase in recycling. In the past, people had hesitation in it since they thought it was time-consuming, and they would not lose anything in the short term. Nevertheless, if they had been punished or fined, they would have done better than ever. Moreover, governments have tried various ways, from advertising on television to education in schools, but they did not bring any long-lasting results. For those reasons, it is high time for policymakers to put more pressure on citizens and make them act.

Secondly, the amount of money governments gain from law-breakers can be used to invest in renovating recycling facilities. Because equipment such as garbage bins and garbage trucks is exposed to toxins, chemicals and dirt everyday, so they need maintaining and replacing all the time, which requires a huge sum of money. Fining people who do not recycle not only encourages them to join environmental protection but also supports government budget for environment. In the long run, this system is likely to have good results. As soon as people see them, they are willing to recycle more without any obligation.

in conclusion, government should legalize recycling to take farther steps in saving the Earth.