It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to many technological advancements, the choice of travel destinations has been extended considerably even to some isolated areas involving the South Pole. However, this diversification has raised plenty of arguments around itself. Among those debates, I believe that the merits it brings back overwhelm some of its drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are many appealing reasons that account for the disapproval of going to outlying sites. First and foremost, faraway cites always hide formidable dangers on the grounds of their primeval characteristic. Therefore, choosing these places to visit as either tourists or members of scientific discoveries may not guarantee absolute safety, even leading to more severe health consequences. On top of that, environmental factors should also be taken into consideration otherwise they may soon be damaged. If tourism or research is developed in those distant locations, human impact on the habitat is inevitable, of which changing the initial biology is the worst case as it can lead to considerable destruction. For example, nowadays indiscriminate littering is a hot potato for many regions.

Nevertheless, I am still of the opinion that people should be given a chance to come to strange places that humans have yearned for long years. Firstly, doing research in remote natural environments can help scientists with finding out breakgrounds in distinctive fields, making great contributions to society. For example, the finding of the rapid melting of ice at the South Pole has become an alarm for society to take action as soon as possible. In addition, both residents and local governments can receive revenue from developing tourism. This may turn into a good resource for the economy as SaPa in Vietnam has done.

To recapitulate, individuals can get more benefits when trips to isolated natural destinations are more encouraged compared to some negative sides. However, the local authority had better add some rules to ensure the safety and tourists along with the ecosystem.