It is often said that crime is a result of societal conditions and poverty, not individual character. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a debate about whether social problems and poverty or inborn characteristics cause criminal issues. While I agree partly with the view that crime problems are undeniable consequences of societal conditions and poverty, I still believe that criminal is resulted from a bad person’s nature.

On the one hand, the reason reinforcing my opinion that criminal issues are attributable to individual character is that a person who is cruel easily commits a crime. In other words, a small child who always bullies friends is likely to commit an offense. For example, an article indicates that most people who commit murder often used to abuse other girls or boys at school. Also, bad characteristics including laziness or selfishness are considered as main culprits building up offenders. The fact of the matter is that numerous lazy people instead of finding jobs to earn money choose to steal from others, thus, criminal issues could worsen seriously in an uncontrolled way.

On the other hand, I advocate that living conditions and poverty are main reasons behind a crime owing to an increase in the unemployment rate. More specifically, in this day and age, an array of people are pushed to work illegally to make ends meet for members in their families. For instance, a person without enough money or even a job to make money so as to pay for medicine or housing rent; always tends to be a stealer or even resorts to smuggling drugs as a means to earn a living regardless of laws. As a consequence, there is a dramatic increase in the number of offenders every day. This way, it can threaten the quality of people’s life and the security of a country.

In conclusion, I think people living in poor conditions or being born with innate negative nature are likely to become criminals.