It's okay to lie online

It is debatable whether or not it is acceptable for a growing number of network users to lie online. While no one can deny its own merits, this may come at the expense of others.

On the one hand, lies seem to be the foundation of art, which has an important role to play in our lives. This means that by taking advantage of untruths, authors are able to think outside the box and produce piece of art. For instance, plentiful works of fiction available on the Internet give a picture of a fantasy world built by lies and exaggeration. Nonetheless, they all provide readers with new insights into rule-breaking things as well as broaden the public's horizons rather than lead them to erroneous ways of thinking.

On the other hand, lying on network sites, namely chat rooms and forums, is considered directly linked to the spread of fake news as it bends the truth and misleads the public. In fact, people in the digital age are easily exposed to censored information online, where many stories are deliberately told in a particular way so as to influence individuals' views. They are consequently more likely to be brainwashed and, moreover, to hold the belief against society.

In conclusion, despite some favorable points, it goes without saying that lies on the Internet ought to be restricted due to the potential risks that they pose.