Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention at school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

It is apparent that a substantial percentage of young learners are struggling to pay close attention at school. This essay will discuss how portable devices and an overloaded curriculum are the driving forces and suggest some resolutions, including restricting screen time and improving their well-being.

Firstly, this lack of attention in class could be attributed to the ubiquitous nature of technology and electronic products, especially smartphones. In other words, teenagers get into the habit of using them even when attending classes owing to irresistible temptations from technology. A prime example of this is online gaming, which can result in a situation where they are forced to multitask to play games while listening to their lecture. Another factor giving rise to this phenomenon is that students are overwhelmed by such a heavy curriculum. When students are faced with a large and intricate amount of work, it can be more difficult than ever for them to concentrate and absorb knowledge. This can incentivize feelings of frustration, anxiety, and burnout, which can further impact their ability to focus.

One urgent measure that could be taken to confront this problem is to restrict the use of digital devices for inappropriate purposes. Since they are a double-edged sword, a complete ban on them might be counterproductive and have resultant consequences. It is advised that the school board control their presence during class hours and remind students to disable notifications. Moreover, the mental and physical health of adolescents should be enhanced by providing support and resources to help them relieve stress levels and manage their workload. For example, a consulting office where they are able to receive advice and confess can be established.

In conclusion, difficulties in focusing are mainly due to portable devices and a heavy syllabus. In order to tackle this issue, schools can implement measures such as restricting screen time and improving student well-being.