It ís said that life in the modern time is now more stressful then ever before, especially for the urban dwellers. Do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Thanks to the rapid development of civilization, the world has changed into a much more convenient and modern place which is beneficial for any residents. However, there is a controversial opinion whether citizens’ life nowadays seems to be more challenging and people are struggling to overcome it. In my point of view, it is true that modern life is more anxious and has more difficult problems than in the past, especially urban ones’ due to some reasons.

Firstly, inner-city people suffering more anxiety than the previous time results from the speedy evolution of technology. Scientists and technologists have invented various types of equipment, machines that automatically and precisely work for human beings. Technology is genuinely a threat to the job market. According to Global Institute, one-quarter of the workforce will lose their jobs such as: accountants, bank tellers, factory workers by the end of 2050. In order to get hired and be valuable in this AI society, workers need to boost many types of proficient knowledge and social skills or else, they will be left behind and naturally selected. It is a burden of urban people to live in such a competitive and ambitious world where technology has ultimately overpowered the labor market.

Secondly, city dwellers experienced stress and tension more than in the past because of alarming pollution rates. There is a strong connection between stress and air pollution as well as other types of polluted issues such as noise pollution, water pollution. These factors are the main reasons why employees suffer from dangerous health problems: lung cancer, heart disease and poor living environment. If luckily they do not endure this issue, people are nervous about it and take many efforts and time to adapt and prevent it.

To conclude, living in cities appears to be extreme and requires a lot of skillful features to survive in. People need to improve themselves in many aspects.