Some people think that the age limit for driving should be increased to make driving safer.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Traffic safety measures have long been on the government’s agenda worldwide. While I agree with the view that raising the legal driving age can improve traffic safety, I believe that there are a range of other measures which can be taken to make our road safer.

On the one hand, increasing the age limit for driving can help curb driving offenses. This might be explained by the first reason that older drivers would be more mature and responsible with their manner, so they would be more clearly aware of traffic laws and demonstrate improved law compliance. There have been numerous road accidents which are the inevitable consequences of reckless driving caused by young people who drive their private vehicle while intoxicated or use a mobile phone while driving. These careless drivers not only endanger themselves, but also cause death of innocent lives on the road. Another reason is that as older drivers are more experienced, they could know how to respond quickly in dangerous situations. For example, if the brakes of a car suddenly stop working, a young driver might panic and not be able to handle it, and an accident is more likely to occur.

On the other hand, the government and local councils should consider other road safety measures that would help achieve better outcomes. Firstly, strict punishments should be rigorously imposed on those who disobey road regulations. For instance, heavy fines, the confiscation of driving licenses or even prison sentences are severe penalties which can act as a deterrent, so that driving offenders could know the serious consequences of their risky actions and would think twice before committing traffic offenses. Secondly, it is essential to educate people properly before they start to drive in order to equip them with sufficient driving skills and knowledge. These educational programs which could be done in schools or in more difficult tests would encourage car drivers and motorists follow the road rules and drive more carefully. This could ensure both of pedestrians and drivers remain safe in their travels.

In conclusion, although I accept that increasing the legal driving age could help reduce traffic accidents, I believe that a variety of other road safety measures should be integrated to promote better driving habits.