It is unfortunate that most languages are on the verge of dying but that is the price of progress. Some see this as something that occurs inevitably while others say that it is an acceptable development. There are arguments on both sides which I will elaborate more below.

On the one hand, I believe that all languages are unique and help to identify who we are. Losing a language can mean losing crucial knowledge about the local environment. For the reason, it is often very important to the community itself that its language survive.In addition, the loss of human languages also severely limits what linguists can learn about human cognition. This, in turn, tells us important things about the human mind. The fewer languages there are to study, the less we will be able to learn about the human mind.

On the other hand, the reduction in the number of languages spoken is a great way to help unify the world and the human race in general. Having one, or a few global languages will make things much more convenient and seamless. Also, languages isolate communities which are most likely to be economically weak. If we as human beings can all communicate in the same tongue, then maybe we will start to treat the whole population of the world equally and that can be no bad thing. Furthermore, languages naturally evolve. Communities are best served by a language which can be used to communicate intelligibly with the greatest number of people. It would seem to me that the fewer the number of languages, the fewer the chances for misunderstanding one another.

In conclusion, it seems to me that this is an acceptable development. But, however, that doesn't mean they must abandon their mother tongue. This is because these new languages do not compare to the linguistic heritage that is being lost.

Your task

It is unfortunate that most languages are on the verge of dying but that's the price of progress. Some see this as something that occurs inevitably while others say that it is an acceptable development. There are arguments on both sides which I will elaborate more below.

On the one hand, I believe that all languages are unique and help to find who we are. Losing a language can mean losing crucial knowledge about the local environment. For the reason, it is often very important to the community itself that its language survive.

In addition, the loss of human languages also severely limits what linguists can learn about human cognition. This, in turn, tells us important things about the human mind. The fewer languages to study, the less we will be able to learn about the human mind.

On the other hand, the reduction in the number of languages spoken is a great way to help unify the world and the human race in general. Having one, or a few global languages will make things much more convenient and seamless.

Also, languages isolate communities which are most likely to be economically weak. If we as human beings can all communicate in the same tongue, then maybe we will start to treat the population of the world equally and that can be no bad thing.

Furthermore, languages naturally evolve. Communities are best served by a language which can be used to communicate intelligibly with the greatest number of people. It would seem to me that the fewer the number of languages, the fewer the chances for misunderstanding one another.