In many countries, old or traditional languages are dying out or being forgotten, especially by younger people. Is this an acceptable development or something that we should try to prevent?

It is unfortunate that most languages are on the verge of dying but that is the price of progress. Some see this as something that occurs inevitably while others say that it is an acceptable development. There are arguments on both sides which I will elaborate more below.

On the one hand, I believe that all languages are unique and help to identify who we are. Losing a language can mean losing crucial knowledge about the local environment. For the reason, it is often very important to the community itself that its language survive. In addition, the loss of human languages also severely limits what linguists can learn about human cognition. This, in turn, tells us important things about the human mind. The fewer languages to study, the less we will be able to learn about the human mind.

On the other hand, the reduction in the number of languages spoken is a great way to help unify the world and the human race in general. Having one, or a few global languages will make things much more convenient and seamless. Also, languages isolate communities which are most likely to be economically weak. If we as human beings can all communicate in the same tongue, then maybe we will start to treat the whole population of the world equally. Furthermore, languages naturally evolve. Communities are best served by a language which can be used to communicate intelligibly with the greatest number of people. It would seem to me that the fewer the number of languages, the fewer the chances for misunderstanding one another.

In conclusion, it seems to me that this is an acceptable development. But, however, this does not mean that we must abandon our mother tongue. This is because these new languages do not compare to the linguistic heritage that is being lost.