It was predicted that people in the 21st century would have much more free time than in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

In the age of globalization and advanced technology, much of the work is done by modern-age gadgets and machines. People in earlier centuries use to believe that the advancement in the coming generations will lead them to extra time for their personal activities. However, this progress has made humans much more invested than ever.

Undeniably, new technologies have provided humans with easy and faster communications. Network companies have made communication easily available at the tips of the hand. For example, with the help of high-speed internet, people are able to do virtual meetings and web searches for various problems within seconds, leading to a relaxed and comfortable life. Nonetheless, such features have encouraged pupils to spend more hours online and communicating with friends across the globe.

On the other hand, it can not be neglected that even in the presence of those creations, people are getting very busy in their lives as people are becoming more career-oriented, so they do not want to sit free in their homes and everybody wants to be independent. As well as, another reason for the hectic schedule is rising prices, and due to that they are used to doing more work to satisfy their basic and luxury needs. That is why assumptions about free space in the twenty-first centenary are proved wrong from some points of view. Because, if they save their moments by using human-made machines then they have to work more to buy those devices and vehicles. To exemplify, now humans are accustomed to techniques such as air-conditioners, food processors, washing machines, and many other items. Consequently, people invest more time than ever before to earn enough to fulfill their new requirements.

To sum up, despite the convenient and comfortable of what advanced technology bring about human beings, it can be strongly affirmed that people in the modernization era have less leisure time rather than the previous generations.