Technological progress in the past century has its negative effect, despite its remarkable contribution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For the last ten decades, people have made great progress in technology development such as hybrid vehicles and solar energy stations. There is a school of thought, however, that it renders much negative impact on society including employment problems. This essay will look at both sides of the argument and explain why I do not think technological progress is negative.

It is not difficult to understand why many emphasize the backwardness of technological progress. Those improvements, particularly in manufacturing, could affect the structure of the industry, leading to layoffs. For example, many famous auto brands like Ford have built modern car factories, adopting robots in the production line, which help them to decrease the number of workers and save money. Thus, many feel afraid and angry if their job could be replaced by technological progress soon.

Clearly, the development of technology may cause depressing social issues, it also has a considerable contribution to humankind which can hardly be ignored. While it eliminates some occupations, more jobs such as computer engineers and programmers are created and become more and more essential in various kinds of companies. Those who lost jobs can easily find a new ones as long as they receive related training. In addition, technology also contributes to the improvement of the working environment, especially those with risks and dangers. For instance, it is the technological progress in safety monitor and alarm systems that save the lives of workers in nuclear power stations from deadly explosions.

In conclusion, although some people in a particular field may indeed be negatively influenced by technological progress, no one could neglect the fact of how it helps society develop and protect members from different occupations.