It will be better for both individuals and society if driverless cars – cars can drive themselves – become more widely spread.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since dramatic advances in automotive technology over the past few decades, the impossible dream of driverless cars has become realized. Personally, I think this development can aid both individuals in particular and the whole society in general because of its utmost convenience, accessibility as well as safety.

On the individual scale, autonomous automobiles make driving more convenient and accessible. To begin with, drivers can utilize their spare time to engage in other activities. Because of the ultimate function of self-driving, they have total freedom to read books, play games or even have phone conversations with friends without paying attention to the road, which makes the journey experiences both comfortable and liberating. Besides, this mode of transportation offer higher accessibility for motorists having trouble with driving, particularly senior and disabled citizens. Such groundbreaking vehicles can afford those people the independence of car travel as they pose little to no risk to drivers around them.

At the societal level, self-driving cars are beneficial, for they are less likely to cause traffic accidents. This is because these cars are equipped with the sensory system which can perceive the surroundings far more superior than that of humans. Therefore, split-second decisions can be made such as accelerating or decreasing the velocity or even braking sensibly to keep nearby vehicles and passengers secure. According to projections from the US, the rate of traffic fatality rate will have been diminished by the mid-21st century when these cares become ubiquitous.

In conclusion, thanks to the aforementioned positive points, I hold a strong belief that autonomous cars would enormously benefit both citizens and the community. Government should rev up investment in the manufacture of this vehicle types so that they could be a common sight in the near future.