Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

History is usually a neglected subject because it has seen as unuseful and too theoretical. Many people think that there is no reason to spend time to learn it, because this activity does not add any value to us that we live the contemporary era. I strongly disagree with this view, because we have a lot to learn from the past, both from the great mistakes and the majestic achievements of the humankind.

If we study our history we can see a lamentable catalogue of tragedies such as wars, economical crisis and so on. Those issues tend to happen over and over in a sort of a cyclic scheme, in fact, we have records about them since the the invention of the writing. All those terrible events are cyclic because the men are inclined to do the same mistakes, for example, the 20th century's nationalism among the European nations was the main cause of the World War I; after this massive conflict there was the Great Depression in 1929, which is quite similar with the recent economic crisis of 2008.

Our past can also be a great source of inspiration: if we look back in the history we can find a lot of example of courage, and many great moments that can be really useful when we face difficulties in the present. Just 100 years ago, terrible diseases, such as the smallpox, were absolutely incurable and that lead to millions of deaths, but this problem is largely overcome thanks to the effort of many men and women that continued to study and, basically, never gave up.

To conclude, I am deeply convinced that we must learn from the past, because it is a fundamental activity to better understand the human nature and, lastly, to improve the present society in many aspects.