Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people have the opinion that knowledge about the past has no intrinsic utility for the present generation. I strongly disagree with this way of thinking as history gives us invaluable lessons and provides us with the culture and heritage which we cherish.

To begin with, history is a treasure chest which keeps on giving crucial information about our ancestors which helps in building the technology which we are using today. Technology is not perfected in a single attempt but takes a long period of time sometimes decades to get the desired result which can only be achieved by learning from the past and recognizing the faults in our ways. To illustrate, the evolution of mobile phones in the past decade has shown a significant change from just a tool to communicate with a device that can do almost everything.

Besides, knowledge about the past gives us a sense of belonging as it gives us the culture and heritage to which we belong. This is because the only way to understand the teaching of our forefathers lies in the past and the only way to learn them lies in the past. To exemplify, Taj Mahal in India is a monument of love and tourists visit it from all around the world to see this marvel of the past.

To conclude, I firmly believe that the current generation has gained innumerable lessons from the past because of its contribution in the advancement of technology and the rich culture and heritage which we are proud of. Therefore, gaining knowledge from the past has only given us invaluable benefits in the modern way of life.