Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

Since the industrial revolution, the average lifespan has dramatically increased. Even just 100 years ago, many diseases that today are perfectly treated were potentially fatal such as the infections. The result is that the overall quality of the life has improved and the people live longer. This tendency has raised a question whether is fair to increase the retirement age proportionally to a longer lifespan. I totally agree with these proposal because it is beneficial both for the older people and for the young ones.

Many findings underline the importance to maintain the mind active. Wen the elders end to work, usually they are considered as non productive members of the society, even if they are physically active. Contrary to the past, a 60 year old person is usually in an good health, if this person simply stay at home, neglecting every activity, his mind surely will slow down, because the lack of exercise, leading to a lot of mental diseases such as depression and the Alzheimer's.

Another reason to raise the retirement age is that workplace needs people with experience. The younger workers can learn better if they work together with more experienced employees because, even if they usually have a higher qualification, learning skills directly on the job, from people who are on the place since decades,

is a totally different thing.

For this reason, I believe, that an increase in the retirement age is highly recommended for the older workers, for the newer ones and generally for the society.