Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people suppose that learning about history or other relevant subjects is a time-waster since the past constitutes nothing for our modern life. Personally, I totally disagree with this statement due to the fact that the past produces the present with cultures, traditions and experiences.

One of the biggest contributions of the past to those of us in the present is cultures and traditions. During each period in history, humans generate unique languages and various customs that distinguish people living in different countries and ethnicities. Without these customs, all cultures and people are identical, as a serious result, masses of ethnics could easily be assimilated or conquered by others. As a revolutionary once said, "Language is a golden safeguard of an ethnic". Therefore, learning about the past is to us take our cultures and traditions into consideration, to protect our nations, and to be more appreciative of our ancestor's efforts.

In addition, the past also provides us with practical experience and life lessons. That said through wars, we learn how to moderate our anger or rapacity to not ravage lives and nature. Through revolutions, we know what are benefits and drawbacks which we might implement in our future advancement. Moreover, thanks to a plethora of inventions and failures of those scientists, we have both facilities and knowledge to create more brilliant devices for our more qualified living environment.

In conclusion, learning about history and how people endured, lived and initiated throughout different ages plays a crucial role in our improvement because of precious cultures and fundamental lessons.