Learning english at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion is it important for everyone to learn English. Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so how?

With the globalization, English is considered as the international language which open doors for the international platform. Going hand in hand with the development of science and technology, English is needed to cope with every aspect of education, employment, leisure, etc.

Most importantly, in non-English speaking countries especially where English is not the mother tongue, teaching English is initiated since the kindergarten. This is because in the modern society, parents have recognized the importance of learning English to deal a comfortable life with the developing world. Furthermore, when students get entered to local universities for tertiary education, all the lectures, seminars and examinations are conducted in English. This provides students with the habit of getting accustomed to an English speaking environment when they migrate for higher studies. And also, this makes easy for them to present their findings of research projects in front of a panel of foreign examiners with confidence.

However, although English is an international language one cannot disregard the value of local languages. Because, in most of the occasions where one wants to learn English, it is vital to be fluent in the local language to absorb the meaning of what has been said or given. It acts as baseline to build up the relevance with any other language.

In my opinion, the education systems in countries where English is not the native language, it is better if teaching English and local languages are carried out simultaneously. So, children in young ages easily capture the languages than in elder ages. Then, it will be more convenient to shape up the literacy of both English and local languages.