Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion , is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local language and so, how?

English is actually considered as the universal language for communication. Hence, the importance is given in schools to learn it as a priority with other subjects. Which in-turn, presents us with the threat of local language extinction.

Generally the students tend to learn their local languages first. So they do have a good foundation of it. As they begin to level up in school, English is preferred to the native tongue as it opens the door to various opportunities across the world. My general opinion is to present an approach that strikes out a good balance between learning these two languages.

Based on my life experiences, English does provide a competitive edge in terms of communication. Candidates with the fluency in English have a better chance in landing a job or admission to college compared to their counterparts. Additionally, English does provide a pathway to the global market of trade and job scope. Therefore, it is essential for the students to master the language in the school.

Although, the English language gives immense advantage to one's communication with the outside world. It is also significant for the school students to learn their local language with the same level of importance as given to English. The local language symbolizes the tradition, the culture and it is also provides one's own unique identity in the world.

In conclusion, the schools should come up with a system, where learning the local languages along with English is mandatory for attaining a good grade. Hopefully, this system can push more towards the equality of learning these two languages for the betterment of society and as well for an individual.