Life has become much more stressful compared to our parent’s generation. As a result, stress-related illnesses are increasing around the world. Why is stress such widespread in the modern world and what do you think can be done to overcome the problems caused by stress?

Stress kills us from inside and it can lead to personal, social, physical and psychological issues that drives us to the verge of dilapidation. Stress and anxiety are far more severe and widespread among the modern generation than their forefathers. The reasons for this crisis can be attributed to the poor working conditions and the worldwide financial crisis. Several initiatives could be taken to address this problem.

One of the primary reasons for this widespread problem is the demanding and highly competitive work environment in the modern era, especially in private sectors. Constant work pressure, deadlines, targets, fear of losing a job, and higher ambitions in career lead to lengthier office hours and little time for family. It also disrupts relationship, social life and sleep pattern, and grows unhealthy diet habit and sedentary lifestyle. The final result is a more stressful life and deteriorating health condition.

Another reason for this heinous problem is the global economic crisis and rampant inflation. As a result of our modern lifestyle and expectations along with raging inflation, many people find it extremely difficult to meet their expenses and often get trapped in loans and debts. Bankruptcy is increasing and more people are trying to get a second job to support their lifestyle than ever before and the result is more depression and distress, which even leads to suicides.

As a solution to this social catastrophe, governments should make further efforts to improve laws to restrict the working hours and push employers to improve the working environment for their employees. In addition, financial aids to needy people and mentorship and therapy programmes for already sufferers are needed. Finally and most importantly, we, as individuals have to be more prudent in our lifestyle choice, expenses, savings and retirement plan, and spend quality time with our family to eliminate stress and tension.

In conclusion, stress is a silent killer and impedes our performance, deteriorates our health and destroys our relationship. It is expected that individuals and governments will work hard to make a stress-free modern world for all.