Life has become much more stressful compared to our parent’s generation. As a result, stress-related illnesses are increasing around the world. Why is stress such widespread in the modern world and what do you think can be done to overcome the problems caused by stress?

In recent times, due to several reasons, the stress among all age groups has surged drastically. The causes, either personal or professional, lead to a vast array of mental health issues. In this essay, I shall discuss these causes as well as the potential solution to cure stress related illnesses.

To begin with, the desire of living an extravagance life and earning fame is one of the fundamental reasons that creates tension among teenagers as well as young adults. This is because, they set high expectations for their future and if they could not achieve their predefined goals, they consider themselves as a failure. Take secondary schools, for example, where students appear for competitive exams to get top university's education. However, those who could not achieve their targets gets depressed and in worst situations, they commit suicide. Moreover, during adulthood, the incompetence to work efficiently than others and family issues due to unhappy marriage are the reasons of stress for adults.

In order to mitigate the issues caused by stress, both individuals and the government have to contribute together. The government should enact rules and regulations for a stress free environment at educational institutes as well as workplaces. In addition, for mental health patients, free counselling should be provided. Every employee should keep proper work-life balance and more emphasis should be given to exercises and games that could benefit them holistically such as meditation or yoga.

To recapitulate, stress can be caused by various reasons which include competition among peers at different stages of life to ensure better life standards and relationship problems. Nevertheless, a combined effort of people and the government for providing a better life quality can help overcome the mental illness and stress.