Living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The idea that dwelling in large, busy cities is detrimental to the health of residents remains a source of controversy. While I am convinced that this kind of habitat is the main culprit of the decline of people’s health condition, I also agree to some extent that people could improve their health when settling in big cities.

On the one hand, living in over-crowded cities could lead to devastating consequences on inhabitants’ health. The primary reason is that as part of modern lifestyle, an increasingly huge number of city-dwellers use cars to commute to work, take children to school or merely to get around. Such car dependency has discouraged people from taking exercise such as walking or cycling short distances and thus, led to unhealthy, sedentary habits. Also, polluting exhaust emissions produced by cars result in a deterioration of air quality and therefore, perpetuate respiratory disorders. Another reason is noise as a result of the modernization process happening in most cities nowadays. For example, many blue-collars who work in companies located near busy main roads report that they usually get headaches and cannot concentrate on their tasks because of intrusive sounds in the streets.

On the other hand, it cannot be denied that living in modern cities is beneficial to the health of citizens to for some reasons. Firstly, many modern hospitals are constructed in cities so that people will be cured and taken care of with the best service. This is because the hospitals are staffed by a workforce of formally-trained, experienced medical practitioners as well as being equipped with advanced innovative equipment such as high tech machines in the operating theatre. Secondly, in big cities, city-dwellers can easily find a wide range of leisure and sports facilities such as gym and yoga clubs in which they can work out, do exercise, and relax after a long day of working. It is rather hard to find these kinds of facilities that popular in elsewhere.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that although residents’ health could be negatively affected by living in large cities, this kind of habitat might have some benefits for people’s health as well.