A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent history, our perception of a successful and person has changed a lot. There are less and less children dreaming to become brave soldiers, firefighters, farmers or astronauts. Nowadays, if they think about their future they will most likely dream about being very rich and having very high social status, even if they have no idea on how to achieve both of these things. Therefore, I agree with an opinion of many people, that material possessions and social status are the most important things in one’s life.

In the past, the people who had great amount of wealth were usually rulers, lords or were from a royal family. They were people with power who accumulated most of the wealth from the community. There were not many ways to gain that power. You were either born as a king, or you had to slay the king and become one yourself, which was not very easy. I think that is the reason why average people did not put much thought into gaining material riches, or move up the social ranks. Sure, they feared their wealthy powerful lords, but they did not look up to them. They appreciated bravery, honour kindness and trust more than anything. Brave warriors were celebrated while people with riches were only feared by common folk.

I think these traits are also present in socialistic societies. Everyone is equal materially and socially wise; there is not much competiton between people. Nowadays, there are many ways for an average man or woman to raise their social status or gain significant amount of wealth.However, there is also more pressure on normal people to provide for existence. Everyone is chasing money and big careers, and rarely will someone pick more moral option than the more materially benefiting option. The race for success and luxury became the norm in most of the today’s world population. People look up to and respect more famous and successful people, because they inspire them. Their achievements will give average folk hope that they can succeed aswell.

In conclusion, world is getting more and more competitive. In order to succeed, there is no room to take noble traits like kindness, trust and honour into account. As some would say, it is a small puddle full of crocodiles.