Living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people hold the view that living in major cities, with the significant/exponential rise in urban population, is having negative impacts on resident’s health. I totally agree with this statement for the following reasons.

Nowadays, urban life poses many risks on city dwellers’ health and well-being. The first problem stems from the cost of living in big, crowded cities which is significantly/much/far higher than in smaller towns or rural areas. In order to cover their expenditures and support their family, most individuals, especially those of middle to low income or immigrants must work harder and harder, for more hours with higher pressure. Moreover, there is usually a lack of sense of community in big cities. As a result, people are likely to feel lonely and isolated from the society, which discourages them from building up any social relationships.

Furthermore, the health of urban populations is facing increasing threats due to toxic exposure from environment and food they consume. Indeed, exhaust fumes from personal vehicles and gas emissions from manufacturing plants have been the main culprit of air degradation and pollution in many big cities, more alarmingly in developing ones such as Beijing and Ho Chi Minh City. Consequently, the quality of air is often lower in these areas, giving rise to chronic diseases such as asthma, pneumonia and other respiratory problems. At the same time, food security and quality could also exacerbate urban citizens’ well-being. The more stressful life and the availability of fast food make busy people spend a lot of money on this kind of food and little time on doing exercises. To make it worse, healthy food is usually more expensive than unhealthy one, which encourages a lot of people, mostly the poor and low-income to consume a large amount of fast food per/each/every year.

In conclusion, I am convinced that urban life is threatening residents’ health. Governments should therefore take actions to reduce its problems as soon as possible.