Living in a country where you have to speak in a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people are trying to move to other countries not only to visit spectacular places and study different cultural values but also to change the country of residence. It is not surprising, but most people face some difficulties in understanding of local dwellers. So what aspects and problems do cause these misunderstandings in socializing with foreign society and are they really so serious?

Without doubts, unknown surrounding can cause some problems. First of all, people can feel the tension in communicating with someone in a foreign language, especially if they do not speak well. Some serious difficulties can cause moments when people have to ask for help.

For example, when my friend was on Bali he saw a Russian man who needed help. Due to the unknowing English language, he could not say that his things were stolen. Also, ignorance of simple cultural customs can lead to challenging with local social services.

On the other hand, however, today foreigners can be very welcome to the tourists and people who currently live in this country. They are trying to help them to settle and to show significant places telling about their culture. Language barriers not always can be a problem between them, because living there for a long time people are beginning to tell free and fast on the local dialects.

For instance, I know a person who currently lives in the USA. At the first time, she experienced difficulties with communication, despite this fact that she knew English well. People here were very friendly and helped to get used to their surrounding.

In general, I agree that people can fell some problems with communication and experience uncomfortable situations due to unknowing foreign languages. Nevertheless, if people are opened to local citizens they can get help from natives.