Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A lot of people see moving abroad as the only way to improve one’s level of a foreign language. But do people really think about all the inconveniences that go together with living in a place with a spoken language that differs from one’s mother tongue?

One of the main arguments in favor of living abroad, as I mentioned above, is to live in the native speakers’ environment and, therefore, to gain some real experience in speaking a target language. I tend to think, however, that being unable to fully understand what people are talking about can lead to some undesirable consequences.

At first, I am convinced, that the lack of language knowledge results in the lack of understanding even in the simplest situations like doing shopping or going out. Moreover, I am sure that if a person can not speak the certain language at least at some basic level he or she can be in serious danger, as usually all the signs are written in that language and all the warnings are given in it too. So it seems to me that the language skill shortage can be not only inconvenient but to pose a threat to one’s life.

And, of course, the deficit of language ability results in some serious social issues like making it hard to socialize and get to know new people. It can also make it difficult and troublesome to be successfully interviewed for a job position or pass an entrance exam to a college or another educational establishment. So it is obvious that a person should make sure of his or her language abilities before deciding to move abroad.

Language is an important part of a society and a weak command of it can really hinder a person from getting accustomed to the everyday life of a foreign country.