Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

To settle in a foreign country, ones need to overcome many obstacles. Communication problems, in particular, need great deal of traveler’s efforts to be competent with it. I agree that language competency issues might leads to detrimental social interaction as well as difficulties with daily activities. This is true if we look at how the language affect our social and daily life.

Linguistic interaction is integral part of social communication. Words misunderstanding, due to bad pronunciation for example, during chatting with others will impair this important feature of human being other than being embarrassed to talk. For example, if I cannot understand your words or speech then how I can know your feelings, should I laugh or be sad! More to say, greeting somebody by using inappropriately spoken words could lead to a problem that is greater than if not greeting him or her at all. Obviously, this lingual misunderstanding may lead to narrow the social interaction.

We use the language is our daily life situations. To mention but few, we use it to ask the waiter for a cup of coffee or tea, talk with the officer at the airport, and more seriously is if you need to talk with someone during emergency state where the language play life-saving role. All of these practical situations need competent language skills and should it be inadequate may lead someone to stay alone and restricted at home because, for example, he cannot asks about the road if he goes outside and missed his destination.

In conclusion, language skills are essential for every traveler and I agreed that lingual misunderstanding might leads to impair social interaction and causes restricted daily activity. I recommend that everyone should enter a conversational-language course to be prepared for similar situations.