Long distance flights use more fuels than cars and pollute the environment. We should discourage non-essential flights instead of limiting the use of the car. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental pollution caused by long-term human activities has already become a headache for governments and people worldwide. Some people suggest that reducing unimportant long distance flights may be an effective way to reduce greenhouse gas emission. While it is a good idea, I believe that other measures like restrictions on private car use should also be applied.

First of all, we have to admit that there is a higher possibility of reducing unimportant flights thanks to the rapid development of instant messaging and mobile networking. Necessary face-to-face business communications in the past are substituted by telecommunications and things are settled online or through telephones. This means business men no longer need to take a long-distant flight to meet their clients, thus decreasing the demand of long distance flights.

However, in economic and cultural respect, it may take a lower price to reduce private car use than to discourage long distance flights. This is because plane is the most convenient and fastest way for long-distant travels and can hardly be replaced. Therefore, there exist risks of a recession in industries which are highly connected to flights, such as tourism. In comparison, the limitation of car use has some remedies - citizens can choose public transits or carpool, which is much more eco-friendly and also convenient.

Based on the arguments above, we can see the advantages of both discouraging non-essential flights and car use. In conclusion, it is too definite to discourage non-essential flights at the expense of limitation on car use. In reality, only by a proper combination of the two measures and applications of other means such as exploiting clean energy and developing high technology which can be applied for renewable resources can we ensure a better environment with a slightest impact on the development in other fields.