A longer prison term as a way of punishing those who break the law is not as good as other methods To what extend do you agree or disagree

Long-term isolation sometimes is regarded as an effective way of reducing and punishing crimes. There are arguments about how heavy sentences should be, whether we have better options besides a lengthy prison term. From my perspective, I entirely agree with the given statement.

I understand that the prison sentence may have a deterrent effect on either prospective offenders or career criminals. Lengthy terms reduce crime through incapacitation, rehabilitation, and specific correction. Meanwhile, the criminal record can have a lasting impact on lives and careers. Therefore, rational people will not commit crimes, for it is impossible to break the rules with impunity.

But would incarceration guarantee public safety?

If we are not careful, prisons can become "schools of crimes" through stigmatization and labeling effects and social learning of pro-criminal attitudes, values, skills, and roles. If the judges show a propensity for sentencing prison, more offenders will go to jail rather than probation or community correction. That trend would increase prison population, and add more work on reforming offenders. Furthermore, prison terms isolate offenders from family and society but absorbed with other criminals. Prisoners are more likely to be influenced by cellmates than by others.

Lengthy terms also carry significant post-release consequences that may influence the likelihood of both committing offenses and be imprisoned again. The longer prisoners are inside, the longer they are isolated from society, the harder it is for them to reintegrate into society. There are good reasons for us to consider other options to fight crimes and punish perpetrators. For example, punishment can be probation to low-level offending or violating behavior, or considering community services to those who committed minor crimes, law-abiding citizens. Non-prison punishments may have a negative effect on the probability of a subsequent return to prison or criminal behavior. Crime is no longer an option if people integrate into civil society, hold down jobs, and understand legal responsibilities.

Overall, a harsh penalty is not the best approach. Our major concern should be on changing offenders' behavior and helping them function as productive members of society.