Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones

Bombarded as we are by the ubiquity of mobile phones, there are good reasons to worry about children and mobile-madness. While smart devices can undoubtedly play a role in security, connectedness, and even learning, many schools have chosen to ban their use on campus. I regard this as a positive step, which can benefit not only academic performance but also physical and social development.

Limited access to phones in the classroom can improve learning. Without the distraction of mobiles, it is easier for teachers and students to concentrate on their class. When students have their smart devices in lap or pocket, for instance, there is an irresistible urge to check regularly for texts, alerts, or social media updates. Furthermore, teens can become fanatical about being "always available" or panic under peer pressure without staying in touch. These distractions can erode attention spans and interfere with the class's quality, which can have long-term effects on academic performance. A blanket ban on phones during class can free learners from this addiction and allow them to focus.

In addition to the ban during class, a school that restricts the use outside the class can also expect improvements in children's wellbeing. Phone addiction can crowd out activities that can improve the young's intellectual skills, such as reading, playing chess, and table games. Here is the same with their physical and social development. Developing physical and mental health, understanding social cues, and creating artworks are all crucial abilities that bear little relationship to screen viewing. Many children end up wearing glasses and obsessing in childhood without strict mobile rules.

In conclusion, I would argue that phone use limitations are necessary for the holistic development of the young, although phones are a mixed blessing for them. With lines and boundaries, students are more likely to learn better, strengthen friendships, and engage in healthier pursuits.