Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that computerization is happening and there is no need for public libraries because it costs a huge amount of money. Although I believe that computer technology has a considerate effect on people’s reading, I disagree that it can fully replace the libraries’ functions.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons can explain the benefits of computers for readers. Firstly, computers store an enormous number of kinds of books and references, which is easy for most people to assess their favourite books or references for their study or work. In addition, thanks to computers, it is advantageous for people who live far from the city centers and people who are busy to spend their time to go to the libraries can read books without worrying about the day of returning those books.

On the other hand, libraries still have their irreplaceable functions. Firstly, public library is one of the best places for students around the world to study because of its silence and its basic necessities for students to spend their time in. For example, in Vietnam, especially in large cities, libraries are beautiful, silent and spacious and they serve users not only the beverage but also fast foods. Secondly, traditionalists and elderly people have a hard time accustoming themselves to technology because of their ages and their ideologies so libraries are designed to be more compatible with them.

In conclusion, for the reasons I mentioned before, I strongly believe that both library and computer are important for readers and they are complementary to some extent.